When is the best time to workout?

Happy Friday!

First off, thanks for bearing with me on my lack of posts. The fire at our television studios has left us shifting around, moving to-and-from and… well… you get the idea.

I am still working on getting a website up, but for now will be blogging several times a week with general advice, tips, tricks, recipes, etc.

So… let’s get to the first post! Today I tackle a question many of you have e-mailed me.

When is the best time to workout?

Off the top, I want to disprove a rumor that working out in the morning will help you burn the most calories throughout the day.  That is not trueLet me repeat: That is not true.

So, when is the best time?
There is no right or wrong answer.  You have to find what works best for you.

When I started my life-changing revolution, I awoke at 4:30am 3-4x/week to work out at 5am. But I also had a job in which I was working from 2pm-11pm.  You can see why this is not ideal. Sleep – sufficient sleep – is one of the biggest factors in successful weight loss.  My body needs 9 hours every night.  (Future blog post, by the way)

Now I workout 6 days/week.  Weekdays: after work, typically around 11pm.  Weekends: Midday.

Every body is different. Know your body. Test different methods. See what works.
In doing so, you will learn when you perform best.  You should also learn when that momentum will stay with you for the rest of your day.
What’s most important is that you carve out time – find time – and be active.  Establish the exercise habit.

Here’s what I have learned about my body:

- I perform my best workouts when I’ve eaten beforehand.

- On the days I jog, the workout is more of a stress-reliever and meditative. Because of that, it helps to end my day with exercise – after work. But you may workout most successfully in the morning, before work, because of time constraints, getting it out of the way, etc.

- Occasionally I shake things up and workout mid-morning, after breakfast.  However, I’ve noticed that if I exercise before I go into work (which is at 2pm), my mood is often affected – for the worse. I’m more grumpy, more agitated. I believe that’s because I’ve used up a lot of energy (to quote the cool kids) going HAM-style at the gym.  Shifting from such momentum to fluorescent lights and computer screens just tanks my body.

A few more helpful pieces of advice:

- Plan ahead!
Are you going out with the girls Friday night for dinner and drinks? Get a session in Friday morning. Have a round of your kids’ sports games all-day Saturday? Dress accordingly and take a walk or a jog during the games or in-between. It’s so easy. There are 24 hours in a day. You can spare some of that time for your health.

- Rest & Recoup!
I probably shouldn’t be telling you this if you’re already struggling to be active, but if you are dedicated to the cause, remember to take time to rest and recover.
I went through a phase of doing 1.5-2 hour workouts every day.  You will get drained very quickly.  Take a day (I take one day off a week, sometimes two) and let your body heal. Replenish. Refocus. After a day of rest, I often do one of my best runs of the week.

Any exercise is better than no exercise.  Be active.  Be the change.
P.S. – Take a look at the photo below.  Now down five shirt sizes and 10 pant sizes. From 5X to a Large. From a 56 waist to a 36 waist.  Yeah… I went a little spending-crazy at the mall today.

If you’re looking for a private trainer, coach and mentor to get your life-changing revolution going, contact me.  Tell your friends. :)

- J-Lo
(832) 647-5142
JosephRobertoLopez@gmail.com
Friend me on Facebook!
Follow me on Twitter!

Image

2 responses to “When is the best time to workout?

  1. Cant wait to read more on your journey :)

  2. Brandon De Hoyos

    I established the exercise habit over the last two weeks. Still trying to figure out what is best for me, in terms of when to exercise. But, I’m still doing it, weekdays only. Weekends are mine. Been eating better. Doing it one day at a time. 30 lbs. to go.

    Thanks for the motivation, JLo!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

