Hi! I’m Joseph, and I lost 200 pounds in 1 year.

I went from 430 lbs. to 230 lbs. from March 2011-March 2012, from age 22 to 23.
You might have seen my story on News 4 in San Antonio, or online at woaitv.com

Thanks for taking the time to visit my new blog. As you can see, it’s still in the works, but there are a few things that I will be focusing on with this website in the coming weeks.

1. Telling you how I lost so much weight in (what apparently is) such a short amount of time. How I started, when I changed things up, explaining my workout and diet routine, sharing recipes, showing how you can (and I did) eat out at restaurants for EVERY meal and still shed the fat, and much more.

2. Helping you do what I did and change your life.  If you have that weight to lose but you’re stuck and don’t know just how to start, let me help you.  It doesn’t take pills, pre-packaged meals, surgery; all you need is dedication, drive, determination and to believe in yourself.  It doesn’t have to be (and it’s not) boring and dreadful. I assure you of that.

So if you’re in a similar situation, I am starting to work with people of all ages – children and adults – in reaching their health and wellness goals and changing their lives.  Feel free to contact me if you want to get started; I would love to work with you.  E-Mail: josephrobertolopez@gmail.com

More soon,
Joseph “J-Lo” Lopez
(832) 647-5142
josephrobertolopez@gmail.com

In one year!

In one year!

23 responses to “Hi! I’m Joseph, and I lost 200 pounds in 1 year.

  1. You look awesome what an inspiration

  2. Rosa

    Congratulations JLo you have attained what many people just talk about – I should – I need but…. excuses excuses – you have proven that all you need is determination and set your mind to do it…

  3. Wesley Lawler

    Hello. Man, im 15 & I weigh 230 amd a have problem with eating McDonald’s amd fast foods ect….do you have a suggestIon? I got inspred my your story. Ive been working out & its hard to finish a workout! Did you eat a energy bar or what did you do. Well, anyways thanks. If you can do it anyone can!!!!! Please help

  4. Cynthia Rodriguez

    Hi Joseph, just wanted to say that you look great and you are an inspiration. I am 53 yrs old and would love to join any group you put together to try and get myself back on track. I had the lap band put in and lost 60lbs but after 5yrs had to have it removed..I have since gained 40lbs back but I truly need to examine my life. I am not a drinker or smoker but feel that I am heading toward illnesses due to my weight. Please let me know when you plan to put a group together and I will join. I truly do want to lose weight and feel great about myself. I know what you mean about shopping when you are lighter..it is great.. I have clothes that I do not want to get rid of because I want to get back into them. Please let me join you and others to reach my goal.

  5. Christina

    Joseph… You are truly an inspiration… Thank you for sharing your journey… In 2009 I had enough of carrying the burden of extra weight … I ended up losing 60 pounds in a few months (a sac of potatoes!!!) ran my first marathon… However, as the years progressed and everyday life stresses took control and brought back bad eating habits and less activity… I gained all but 15 pounds back… I am at that crossroads again of enough is enough… I’m ready to lose the pounds again and keep them off!!! I am active again and now watching what I eat again… I look forward to reading your blog and seeing how you choose your meals.. I find the most challenging part of eating out is choosing the Healthiest meal at a restaurant.. Sometimes i think that I am choosing wisely, however, it ends up being more calories than I thought….. Can’t wait to hear about your journey on your blog… Kudos to you!!!!

  6. Delia

    Great Job !!!!

  7. Joseph awesome transformation! Glad to see someone local is inspiring our community to change our bad habits and get healthier! At my heaviest I weighed 330 lbs living with type 2 diabetes, high blood pressure, high cholesterol, acid reflux, and last but not least sleep apnea I finally said to myself if I don’t do something fast I might not be around much longer therefore I made drastic changes to my lifestyle like eatting healthy and exercising. Over the course of six months I’ve lost a total of 63 lbs, and continue to set new goals every week I really love my new healthy life style will continue to advance towards my ultimate goal of one day meeting my soulmate and starting a family! Also it would feel great not to feel self conscious about walking the beaches of south beach FL without my shirt on ;)

  8. Joseph … I weigh 400 lbs. I have high blood pressure, heart issues and insulin-dependent diabetes. I’m a mess physically and mentally because of my weight. I’m ashamed to go anywhere because of my profuse sweating any time I move much. Wearing a suit to job interviews is a nightmare. The additional clothing causes me to really sweat and there is no cooling off possible. I’ve sat through a few interviews where the sweat was pouring down my face and my shirt was soaked. Who would want to hire me?

    Really interested in talking with you about losing the weight. I was fat as a kid and during my adult years I took up running. I ran about 4 miles M-Sat and was able to keep my weight at about a 230lbs level doing that. I’m 6′ 5″, so 230 gave me a 37/38 inch waist and I didn’t have any of the health issues I have now. After I retired from the military in 2003, I stopped running and kept on eating. I’ve gained right at 170lbs since I left the Air Force.

    Hope to learn more from you and your experience. I want to lose my weight without gastric bypass or any other type of unnatural course..

    • Melissa

      Good for you Tall Texan for taking that first step. I too have a great deal to lose and I had just started changing a few little things when I saw Joseph ‘s story. Good luck to you and hope you. I know its not easy but with support and a whole lot of will power hopefully we will all reach our goals!!

    • Dear Tall Texan, just like Melissa, I have a lot to lose in terms of weight and inches and I want to see my kids grow up and enjoy doing things with them like getting on rides and playing with them. with regard to support; maybe there is some we can all do to help each other get on our way. I’m happy to see such an inspiring story with the “how to get there” instead of just the end product. Take care and God Bless.

  9. Mary O'Day-Salinas

    Great to see someone who is so determined. I was like that a year ago…lost 65 pounds went from a 22 to a 12.Now I am on insulin and am gaining weight again…I hate it. I really haven’t changed my eating habits. Still love my vegies and fruit. I have heard that as you get older it is harder to lose…yep that is right. I am 66 yrs old and not in the best of health. I just retired and want to live long enough to see my house remodled so I can enjoy the rest of my life. I am going to watch you segemnt on 4 again and again in the hope it will inspire me. My best to you. God Bless.

  10. Brandon De Hoyos

    Hey JLo! Okay, you’ve inspired me. I have approximately 50 lbs. to lose. I’m gonna do it! :D Love ya, J!

  11. T.R

    You look AWESOME… Great JOB!!!!

  12. Rick

    Great work! Keep being an Inspiration to everyone, so maybe we won’t give up hope for getting healthy and eating right.

  13. Frank

    Awesome job! I recently lost 30 lbs. A few years ago, I topped off at 210 – I’m only 5’6″. My goal at the time was 30 by 40 – lose 30 lbs by the time I turned 40. While that may not be a lot to some, I was BP meds and using a CPAP for my sleep apnea. While I am on a lower dose of BP today, I’m proud to say that I’ve gotten rid of my CPAP. I’m back to the size I was back in college. To celebrate my accomplishment, I also ran the Rock ‘n Roll 1/2 marathon.

    Starting off small the way you did is exactly what many need to do. Congratulations! I hope you serve as an inspiration for many here that struggle with just getting started.

  14. Amanda Perez

    Hi Joseph,

    My name is Amanda I am a wife and a mother of 3. I have been over weight all my life but more so after the birth of my children. I am 5’2″ and 220 lbs. I am also worried about the health of my family. My oldest son is 11 years old a,nd 5’4″ and 175 lbs. I also have a 6 year old that is about 110. I need help on how to help us all and make it fun for my kids. I would love some help or even ideas.
    Thank you for your time.
    Amanda Perez

  15. Ani

    What an accomplishment, you look great. Thank you for helping other lose those unwanted pounds. :-)

  16. Cathy D.

    Read your story and was very impressed. I am currently around 315 lbs. I did lose about 60lbs but it took me over a year to do that and I have gained most of it back. I am 65 years old female with many health problems, most due to weight, I can’t walk without becoming out of breath. I think I need some consistency in any plan to help me lose weight, so if you can help me, give me pointers etc, that would be great.
    If you are willing to help me, it would be so appreciated. I do good one day and then relapse the next day so I know my problem lies in my head as well as my physical body. Looking forward to joining a group that can help me achieve a consistent way of losing weight, right now I have no dedication, drive, no determination but these are things I know I need to work on and am glad to find someone who understand weight loss and how to help others.

  17. Ok Joseph I feel like it’s time for me as I have helped others in their journey through life, and enough with the excuses of why I can’t, it’s time to get to work. There are things I’ve done for my clients that I haven’t done for myself. I simply haven’t and now’s the time. Thank you for your courage to accomplish and share your personal story. It takes a lot to put yourself out there and congratulations. God’s Speed Sir!!!

  18. Diane Robertson

    Hi Joseph, Iike so many people out there I saw your story. Great Job! I am 68 years old 5′ 3″ I weigh almost 180 pounds. I do not have any health problems…except I did have a knee replacement 1 yr ago. Being over weight is so hard on my joints…now my other knee is starting to hurt. I need to lose approx. 50 lbs. I know it is a mind set and you have proved that. I need your help with that…I keep telling myself to just do it…and I am not going to give up on this but I need “Help” Please Help Me! If you are planning to start a group to lose weight I want to be apart of your group.

    God Bless

  19. Diane R

    Great Job Joseph….I need to lose 50 pounds myself…need to get the my mindset and get busy…like you did and just do it. Now, are you planning to get a group together to help us lose this weight, if so please let me know…i would like to be apart of your group. I had a complete knee replacement last year and i really need to lose this weight … it very had on my joints..

    God Bless..

  20. ariyana

    Please send me info on how to lose the weight. .and congrats on your success

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

